Posted by: Billy Marsh | August 7, 2007

An Excellent Wife has been Found and the Favor of the Lord has been Received!

Billy and Kim on the Blue Ridge Parkway in NC.

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.” Proverbs 18:22 ~ August 7th is my wife’s birthday. Kim will be a whomping 24 years old. And don’t bother asking her if she feels older, despite what she may say in return,  Kim has most definitely secretly found the fountain of youth and forgotten to tell me. Numerous times each week she brings in a picture from before we were married or sometime immediately afterwards and always asks, “Do you wish I still looked like this?” And I always reply most truthfully, “You haven’t changed a bit Kim.” I say those words with full confidence and without shame. My wife is just as beautiful and lovely as she was on our wedding day. However, I have not been so fortunate. Clearly, all it takes are a few glances at myself in some of those same pictures she digs up and there is no doubt that I have utterly left my “prime”. Not to mention, my old college roomate and brother Eric Beecher after looking at our wedding pictures which rest upon our entertainment stand did not shrink back from telling me plainly that I have aged. I always snap back, “It ain’t the years, it’s the miles!”

Still, Kim’s outer beauty is completely substantiated and often overruled by her inner beauty. I have said it from the beginning. Kim is one of the most tenderhearted, compassionate, and loving persons I have ever met. Her bleeding heart and quickness to forgive has always countered my hard-heartedness and numbness to people. Kim has an innocent goodwill that has long been lost in our generation which has become characterized for its total selfishness and individualism. She is always ready and willing to help those in need whether they be Christian or not. The more time that I spend with her, the more the Lord illumines my own selfishness and pride.

Billy and Kim at La Fiesta in SC.

Kim has always been fun to be around. She has a wondeful sense of humor that doesn’t take much to trigger. With the right group of people and the right amount of sugar in her system, she can very easily become a hoot. She has been such a delight to live with 24/7. Kim will play board games, video games, card games, watch t.v., watch movies (even all six Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings trilogy), play sports, and throw the frisbee. She is very interactive and is also equally competitive. I must tell you, she does not like to lose.

I think one of the most special things that causes me to love my wife more and more is to see just how much she loves me. Though she and I spend a lot of time hanging out with other people, Kim is always content to just be with me. She has been so faithful in being satisfied with our relationship. I never have to tell her to spend time with me. She has always been eager to endure the whole day together. And I must say, the feeling is mutual. I love my wife wholeheartedly, and I did not marry her to put her in the kitchen. I married her so that I could spend the rest of my life with her. And, I don’t delight in letting thoses precious minutes go by in vain. Since we have arrived at Seminary, I feel that many husbands that I have met have spent more time worrying about whether their wives can check off the Proverbs 31 woman list of characteristics and virtues, than actually having a real, loving relationship with their spouse. My fear is that there are many godly women in homes where they mine as well be single. Whether or not Kim can check those biblical womanhood boxes off or not does not so much bother me, as does whether I am a loving husband who is in love with his wife and enjoys being with her. No man should be trying to make his marriage mirror Christ’s marriage to the Church until he first loves his earthly spouse with the same passion, devotion, and joy that Christ does his bride (Disclaimer: Yes, Kim and I do believe in and attempt to emulate biblical manhood and womanhood however imperfectly it may appear).

As far as Kim’s relationship with the Lord goes, she is truly an excellent wife. From a biblical standpoint, there has not really been a time where I had to spell out what a godly woman looked like so that she could fit into that mold. She has loved Jesus passionately since I have known her. Yes, she’s not an MDiv student, but she knows her Savior well. She loves his Word and labors hard to meditate upon it and let it take root into her heart. Kim lives out her relationship vibrantly at work and is a constant witness to her coworkers and students. She also has a tremendous missionary heart. She spent a whole summer in Australia with the IMB and has done short-term mission trips to Brazil and in the US. She has a heart for the elderly and already is hammering me on planning a trip to serve at a Soup Kitchen downtown. In addition, Kim is a prayer warrior. Her prayers always amaze me and continue to bless me everytime we pray together. If all I knew of her relationship with the Lord were them, I would know she had a real relationship with a personal Almighty God.

Kim on our 1 year wedding anniversary (May 28, ‘06).

God has truly personified his favor over me in the form of a woman. She is a grace of God, and I love her with all my heart. I thank God for her 24th birthday and pray that he may allow me to spend many, many more with her in this life and the one to come. Happy Birthday Kim, you are my sweetheart and I love you!

P.S. Happy Birthday to you too Keri! (Kim’s twin sister and my sweet sister-in-law)

Responses

  1. awl…..that is the sweetest thing I have ever read!!! Kim is pretty amazing!!!!! I know it means a lot to her that you posted that!! I also love all the pictures you put up…it makes your page look very nice :)

  2. Yes you do have an excellent wife! Tell her that even though I called her I wish that I had been looking at your blog earlier and could have commented on how your mother and I love having her as a daughter in law. She is a wonderful person and has done well to survive around your crazy parents!


Leave a Reply

Categories

