Posted by: Billy Marsh | October 3, 2007

Lincoln Brewster: Jammin’ and Worship

All To You/Lincoln Brewster

As a guitarist who pretty much was self-taught in the sense that I never took formal lessons, I inevitably developed my own style as well as a high regard for the guitar and its player. However, initially, I made my cross from the acoustic guitar to the electric guitar due to the influence of one man, Eric Clapton. I remember when my Dad video-taped a live Eric Clapton concert for me one night off of VH1. I was gone that night doing something somewhere, but I can’t remember what. Anyways, I recall coming home and him telling me that it was a great show and that Clapton was amazing. Probably for the next three or four years, I played that VHS tape over and over again, trying to learn Clapton’s riffs and runs using the blurried pause function that most of you remember from typical VCR players. Then, in college, Eric had a DVD player, so I bought the concert on DVD and still tried to play note for note with Clapton.

All of that to say, when I come to Christian music as a musician, sometimes its hard to be satisfied. Rarely is there an artist who receives much publicity or public exposure for his musical talents. The closest one that I can think of is Phil Keaggy, but he is still somewhat under the radar. Shane and Shane are both very talented vocally and on their instruments. Also, for some of you 90’s Christian music people, Wes King is an outstanding guitarist. But, when I heard of Lincoln Brewster, I realized that there might be some hope left after all for the electic guitar in Christian music.

Brewster is a phenomenal guitarist. He is very fast, and he has a great tone to his lead. His fillers are sharp, and they add many layers to the song’s non-lyrical parts. He plays with a huge amount of energy and intensity. Brewster is probably what some would call a prodigy. He’s been playing music very well even from a very early age. He play lead guitar for and toured with Steve Perry, Journey’s former lead singer. During that time, Brewster was saved and sought out a life of music from within the church. Now he is a full-time worship leader and recording artist.

The main reason that I’m spotlighting Brewster’s live worship album, All To You, is because this past Sunday in Sunday School, Mr. Allen Ashford thanked me for introducing them (his family) to Lincoln Brewster. At that time, I had one of his songs featured in my media player on the sidebar. So, I thought I’d give it a little bigger plug.

This record in particular is a “live” album. What’s so unique about it is that it’s a worship album, but Brewster doesn’t hold back from rocking it out. There are a few songs where he doesn’t shy away from burning up the fretboard for a few bars of music. That is something that I really appreciate. Not only am I ministered to by the wonderful set list of songs on the CD, but the musicianship raises the level of quality on the entire project. Also, the CD comes “enhanced” with downloadable lead sheets, lyric sheets, and online access to other material.

All in all, the album just has a great flow to it. I’ve listened to a lot of worship albums, most of which I consider redundant and monotonous. However, Brewster’s attempt is a success insofar as most of the songs are not as well-known and each song doesn’t sound the same and played in the key of E. In addition, there is a very worshippful spirit throughout the whole CD.

Take this from a guy who doesn’t listen regularly to “worship albums” per se, Brewster’s contribution does not disappoint. I listen to it often and for those of you who do play guitar and care about the musicianship of Christian artists, check out Brewster’s solo in the title track song “All To You”; he starts sounding a little like SRV, if ya know what I mean.

Responses

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  2. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

