Posted by: Billy Marsh | November 17, 2007

The Law of Liberty

The Ten Commandments The Liberty Bell

When Dr. Mark Taylor, my “Exegesis of James” professor, told us not to be surprised when we would hit the brickwall trying to find research for our papers, I dismissed the comment because I was writing on the Law in James. I knew that with a topic as broad as the Law I wouldn’t have any trouble discovering a plethora of sources to choose from. However, I have to bow my head and admit that he was right. Needless to say, I was surprised at how little has been written on the epistle of James despite the fact that the scholarship for what Luther called “the epistle of straw” has picked up in the past 50 years.

But, I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed writing this paper. I started much earlier than I have in the past and took my time walking through the material, whether or not the finished product reflects it. Also, I’d like to give a big thanks to Bryan Walker, my former pastor, who has been a major blessing and ministry to me by supplying me with all of the best books available for any given subject. And he delivers!

The thesis of my paper was concerned with identifying what James means when he calls the Law “the law of liberty” in Jas 1:25 and 2:12. I argued that James termed the Law as “the law of liberty” based off of his interpretation of Jeremiah 31:31-34 (especially vv 33-34) in light of the life, teaching, and ministry of Jesus Christ. The fulfillment of the new covenant promise as articulated in Jer 31:31-34 informed James’ understanding of “the law of liberty” and its role in the Christian’s salvation, works, and the final judgment.

Click here to view and/or download the paper. Or, simply scroll down the sidebar until you come to the heading “Pages”. Then click on the “Theology” link and you will be able to access the paper there. I pray that the Lord will use this paper to assist you all in better understanding the Word and God’s self-gloryfing work in the exaltation of his Son, Jesus Christ who is the Savior of all men (1Tim 4:10).

Leave a Reply

Categories

