Posted by: Billy Marsh | January 23, 2008

Andrew Peterson on Hope and The Grey Havens

The Grey Havens ~ John Howe

In case you are unaware of the significance and identity of the picture in my blog banner, it is a painting done by Alan Lee (conceptual artist for The Lord of the Rings movies) of a location in Tolkien’s Middle-Earth called, The Grey Havens. I have been postponing writing a post on the history of The Grey Havens and why I chose it to be the artistic message of my blog, and will probably continue to do so for a few more months until I begin to do a series of articles on Heaven. In the meantime, it will suffice to say that the painting itself has always mesmerized me. I remember seeing this screenshot from some of The Return of the King still images and being taken away (the picture in this particular post is also of The Grey Havens done by artist John Howe who was, in addition to Alan Lee, a conceptual artist for the LOTR films). Ever since, I’ve been searching the internet looking for a print of the painting to purchase to put up in our house. Yet, I can’t seem to track one down. If you’re reading this and know where to find one, please send me in the right direction (leave a comment or send me an email by clicking on the tab “Contact Billy”).

Today, I was visiting The Rabbit Room (click here to read more about this incredible site) and was able to read Andrew Peterson’s lastest blog. The title was called “A Sudden Joyous Turn“. First, let me begin by stating that it is uncanny just how likeminded he and I are, and I’m not just saying that because he’s my favorite artist/musician. We truly have a shared vision concerning the sojourner mentality and its presence in Tolkien’s story-telling. Peterson begins by giving a warm retelling of his 9 year old son coming downstairs after finishing his first reading of The Return of the King. Interestingly, his son was greatly impacted by the eschatological scenes between Frodo, Gandalf, and Samwise Gamgee and their many departures at The Grey Havens. This excitement prompted Peterson to settle the family down for a fun-filled night of rewatching Peter Jackson’s The Return of the King. And the rest of the story I’ll leave to Peterson, he is much more eloquent than I.

Please click on the link above to read Peterson’s sentiments concerning Tolkien, The Return of the King (book and movie), the sojourner motif, fatherhood, Christian Hope, and the deep inner longing for Heaven, holiness, and the return of Jesus Christ. This is a great post and coincides nicely with many themes and truths to which I have bound myself, and am daily pleading for you to join in with me. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

