Posted by: Billy Marsh | March 18, 2008

The “New” Christians?

This past Saturday Kim and I made our way into one of our local Barnes & Noble stores to kill some time, relax, and look for some new fiction books to read. However, I found myself speechless and slowly turning red in the face only about 15 feet into the store. Located right behind the “New Arrivals” display was a table with a medium sized sign on it labeled “The New Christians”. As I quickly scanned the books that were featured, I immediately realized that I was about to learn a lesson from the Lord about how to be slow to anger. The display offered about 20 books solely from the Emergent Church authors (not Emerging; there was no Mark Driscoll). Here’s a sampling of what I saw.

A Generous Orthodoxy ~ Brian McLaren An Emergent Manifesto Searching for God Knows What ~ Donald Miller Sex God ~ Rob Bell

The New Christians ~ Tony Jones The Secret Message of Jesus ~ Brian McLaren Velvet Elvis ~ Rob Bell Blue Like Jazz ~ Donald Miller

What do you think?

Responses

  1. Aren’t you the angry one? Shouldn’t you be telling us what you think? I guess my first thought would be, have you read them? Are you angry at the content or the fact that they’re associated with “New Christians?” I can’t speak for all of them, but I can tell you that “Blue Like Jazz” is a tremendous book. You should give it a read.

  2. I think it’s great!

  3. Maybe I am getting too mellow, soft or cynical in my advancing middle age, but when I see the Osteen books selling like hotcakes, the emergent church stuff, the regular old fashioned liberal junk, the Benny Hinn junk, it all seems so normal now. I am not as angry as when I was your age. Heresy has always been popular, books by man pleasers always sell well. Broad is the way of destruction but narrow is the path to Christ.


Leave a Reply

Categories

