Posted by: Billy Marsh | March 26, 2008

Music That Needs Air

I get the same feeling every time the seasons change from summer to fall and winter to spring. Certain albums or songs, like a seasonal wardrobe, are dug out of the attic or dusted off the shelves and are shoved back into the CD player after laying dormant for months. In my case that is probably not exactly true since what I listen to varies more so based off of my mood than the weather, yet, as the seasons change there is a window of time where I am inclined only to listen to specific kinds of music rather than a conglomerated selection no matter my state of mind.

While Fort Worth tries to make its mind up as to whether or not it wants to be cold or hot, the days are progressively becoming more and more “springish”. Therefore, I’m in the process of reorganizing my iPod, moving songs, artists, albums, and playlists around to form a nice soundtrack that matches the weather and the scenery, and typically, the mood I acquire during this time of year which can be summed up in two classic words: laid back.

Elizabethtown

In one of mine and Kim’s favorite movies, Elizabethtown, towards the end of the film, the main character takes a road trip to discover the wonder of America, namely, its heritage and countryside. His “possible” girlfriend made him a map for his journey that was synchronized with songs that were suitable for each leg of the trip (by the way, the movie has an incredible soundtrack which was so good that they subsequently released a “Vol. II” for it). Nonetheless, as the girl narrates the personalized map, there is a line that she says which has stuck with me ever since. It was one of those statements that you hear that perfectly describes the way you feel about something, but you were just never inclined to put those feelings into words; but now that you’ve heard them expressed verbally, you know there’s no other way to say it. What she said, overlapping the cue of a song representative of her description, was, “Some music needs air. Roll down your window.”

She’s aboslutely right. There is just some music that you have to roll down the windows to, hang out your arm, and give the music room to breathe. So, here’s a brief list of the songs that in my opinion must be listened to, if possible, with the windows down. Music that needs air.

**What songs do you enjoy listening to that help you relax, and make you forget about the world for a few minutes? What songs do you like to play when driving in your car or with the windows up in your house when it’s sunny outside, a breeze blowing, and 72 degrees? My list is nowhere exhaustive nor would I say that these are necessarily my top picks. They are more so examples and are the ones that are on my mind right now. Don’t forget that you can listen to some of these songs in my Box.net media player in the sidebar.

  • Blue Sky ~ The Allman Brothers Band from Eat a Peach
  • What’s the World Got in Store~ Wilco from Being There
  • (There’s) No Gettin’ Over Me ~ Ronnie Milsap from Ultimate Ronnie Milsap
  • Breathing Air Again ~ Robbie Seay Band from Better Days
  • Open Skies ~ David Crowder Band from Illuminate
  • Sing My Songs to Me/For Everyman ~ Jackson Browne from For Everyman
  • In a Daydream ~ The Freddy Jones Band from Waiting for the Night
  • The Space Between Living and Dying ~ Jeremy Casella from Recovery
  • Give Me Strength ~ Eric Clapton from 461 Ocean Boulevard
  • Stormy Monday ~ Eric Clapton from Blues (Disc 2)
  • Call it Stormy Monday ~ Albert King and Stevie Ray Vaughn from In Session
  • Don’t Say Goodbye ~ Third Day from Time
  • Doin’ Nothin’ ~ Phil Keaggy from Crimson & Blue
  • Sweet River Roll ~ Waterdeep from Everyone’s Beautiful
Responses

  1. i can’t think of the name of the song it is either by phil collins & gensis or tina turner and they would play it on miami vice while crockett would drive down the road. Now that is a song that needs air to breath!!!!! Makes me feel Ihave no cares in the world. Senior moment from Mom.

  2. Mom,

    It’s called, “In the Air Tonight”. Yeah, that’s a good one; definitely one that needs to be listened to with the windows rolled down, preferably in a convertible I’d say.

    For those of you familiar with Mercy Me, the Christian band, on their tour for the album Undone, they opened their concerts with this song. They actually did a good job with it, though it’s hard to duplicate Phil Collins’ voice. You can find it on their Mercy Me live Cd they released a few years ago that is also on DVD.

    Thanks for the song Mom, I love you.

  3. I came across your blog via SWBTS bloggers, and I love this post! My list of music that needs air would be too long to post; I might have to tackle it on my own blog at some point. :)
    But off the top of my head, anything by Jimmy Buffett must be listened to in the open air.

  4. Tiffany,
    You don’t have to list them all. But I empathize with you on how difficult it is to sort through which ones you want to name. I agree, Buffett’s music can hardly be enjoyed under any other circumstances. His music was made to be listened to that way.

  5. Billmeister,

    You are going to laugh at me for this one. How about Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin”?

    Bret

  6. Bret,
    I’m not laughing, you’re dead on. That’s funny you mentioned “Free Fallin” cause I was playing that one around the house yesterday on my guitar. Keri and Kim were singin’ along. That’s a classic. Good choice.

  7. Songs that need air,

    “Give me the Beat Boys,” by the Doobie Brothers

    “Desperado,” by the Eagles

    “Freshman,” by the Verve Pipe

    “Calling out your Name,” by Rich Mullins

  8. OK, I’ll go ahead and be the nerd of the group (hey, I’m 49 and drive a station wagon) and say that the music/song I want to listen to is going to be anything from Beethoven, Vivaldi, or Miles Davis.

  9. Bryan,
    I’m not sure if age is a good excuse for opting out for classical music crusin’ on a sunny day. My Mom and Dad got ya beat and are still rockin’ strong. But, I don’t disapprove of your choices. I like classical music and jazz. I listen to both reguarly, especially Miles Davis and John Coltrane. I’ve also been listening to Mendelssohn’s “Reformation” Sypmhony #5. It’s incredible. However, I must admit, it’s not my first choice when I’m drivin’ down the road with my aviator’s on.

  10. Billy,
    It is just impossible to look cool, even with wearing Aviators and listening to Ted Nugent, while driving an old station wagon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

