Posted by: Billy Marsh | March 28, 2008

Free Book Contest!!!

Well, it’s been a full week since I posted on Andrew Peterson’s new fiction book (click here to read the review). At the end of that post, I told you of a contest where if you won, I would send you a free copy of On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness. Today was supposed to be the day that I announced the winner, but nobody participated. I think I might have chosen a contest that probably didn’t fit the interest of my readers. However, I still have the extra copy which was sent by Peterson’s publishers for the purpose of giving it away through my blog, so let’s try something different.

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness ~ Andrew Peterson

If you’d like to compete for a free copy of Peterson’s fantasy fiction book, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, then submit a comment to this post. When you submit a comment, I will put your name into a drawing pot. Each comment adds another entry into the drawing which will increase your chances of winning. You can say anything you want in the comment, preferably something about Peterson, fiction, or reading of some sort, but it doesn’t matter. Make sure you give your full name in the comment, especially if you think that I do not know your last name. You can have at the most 5 entries into the drawing. Then, on Monday, I will draw a name from the pot and will announce the winner. Remember to stay tuned to see who the winner is so that in case you’re not local, I can get your mailing address (shipping and handling is on the house). Don’t miss the opportunity to win a great book for free!

Responses

  1. […] Billy is giving away a copy of Andrew Peterson’s On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness. […]

  2. Billy,

    I’m in. I’ve never read anything by Peterson, but I’m sure he’s a good writer (from your glowing reviews).

  3. I’m in Billy. I’ve not read any Christian fiction, but per your recommendations it sound like this is one I need to read.

  4. I hope to win the book!

  5. ” … preferably something about Peterson …”

    I love Peterson’s pastor stuff, but hate the message.

    I don’t understand why he’s calling himself “Andrew” now.

    Gunny Hartman in the Lone Star State

  6. ” … preferably something about … fiction …”

    Does being called a “Fig Newton of my own imagination” count?

    Gunny Hartman in the Lone Star State

  7. ” … preferably something about … reading of some sort …”

    So many books, so little time, so few dollars.

    If I can read this I am too close.

    Gunny Hartman in the Lone Star State

  8. ” … preferably something … it doesn’t matter.”

    Sweet, cause I got a big bag of nuthin’ up in here.

    ;-)

    Gunny Hartman in the Lone Star State

  9. If I win it, I’ll read it.

    ben

  10. I would promote it because it has a cool cover. It reminds me of the 80’s elf fad’s. What was that movie called with the big rat? The Dark Crystal, I think. Anyone here old enough to remember that?

  11. Colin,
    Yes, I remember The Dark Crystal. It kind of creeped me out too. And I agree, Peterson’s book has a cool cover.
    Billy

  12. Thanks, I’d love to win, always enjoy reading authors that are new to me. Never know when you’ll find a jewel!

  13. I also remember the Dark Crystal and found it creepy. It was kind of like the Muppets had gone to the darkside.

    Good point on the coolness of the cover.

  14. Billy, what a horrible way to cultivate readership! You should be ashamed. Nevertheless, i’ll play your little game. Anything I can do to get another win over Ched Spellman, count me in. I’d be more pleased if the book was authored by Dr. Solganick, with an autograph. Probably not for free!

  15. Please count me in.

  16. Greetings, I have been following his interviews and book reviews. It was interesting to learn that he is also a musician. His book cover is great! Please enter me in your drawing. I appreciate it…..Thanks,Cindi

  17. Well, I’ve never heard of him. I also can’t read. But, if he’s a musician, he can’t be too bad. Count me in Billy!

  18. I really want to read this to my kids. I have been hearing him compared to C.S. Lewis who I love. Thanks for offering this giveaway.

  19. I don’t read fiction. :-)

    Bret Allen Rogers

  20. I work with a guy who loves Andrew Peterson. He got to meet him and sit down and play the guitar with him one night, even together with the whole band.

    Bret Allen Rogers

  21. Hi Billy : )

    I’m new to your blog and blogging in general (about two months). I just found out that we have a mutual blogging friend and she recommended that I stop by. So, a quick HI! And I wanted to let you know how much I love your blog and reviews!

    It’s really fantastic! So, my first HELLO, but not my last!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    New friends,
    Amy

  22. Whoops! I forgot to leave you my blog, which has my contact information!

    Sorry about that!

    http://aparkavenueprincess.blogspot.com/

    There it is!

    Amy

  23. And please let me know if you want me to link it up to my blog. Seeing the drawing is tomorrow, I don’t know how much good it will do. But I can try!

  24. Amy,
    You can link it, that is fine. Thanks for stopping by!
    Billy

  25. Enter me. Long time reader, first time commenter.

  26. Seeing as how Ross has called me out,
    and Bret has looked down on all of us who read fiction,

  27. I am going to

  28. make sure I comment my five times

  29. so it will appear legit when my name gets pulled from the pot.

    :)

  30. Don’t worry Ched, a statement like “I don’t read fiction” kind of inadvertently disqualifies a person from having any hopes of winning a free fiction book. Smart decision though to get in your five entries.

    As for Ross, I think you could take him.

  31. Chedmeister,

    I am not looking down on those who read fiction, or are devoted to watching it every week on TV–you know, like in the numerous hours given over to 24 :-). I do not read fiction because I do not understand it. My mind is not creative like your’s, or Bowden’s, or the Marshman, or my wife who can read a novel or two in a single day (if only I had her reading abilities for seminary!).

    Alright, Billmeister, that’s three!

  32. Billmeister,

    Don’t be changing the rules now. “I don’t read fiction” is clearly a statement about fiction. Further, my wife could read it, which are no doubt legitimate grounds for entering my name in the contest.

  33. Here’s another comment about fiction: “I have never read a fiction book all the way through, even in high-school.” What is sad is that I still got A’s and B’s.

    Actually, the first book I ever read front to back was John Piper’s, “Don’t Waste Your Life”.

    Bret Allen Rogers

  34. So do husbands and wives each get 5 comments? Because if so, I’m definitely going to get the book.

  35. And, I WILL read it! Unlike my semi-illiterate husband.

  36. Because I DO read, and enjoy fiction, and if he’s anything like Lewis, I would love to read the book.

  37. ummm… I can’t think of anything else to say, but I’m trying to get my five comments in. :)

  38. Funny adendum to Bret’s comment about not ever finishing a book in high school – I met him before he had ever finished a book and when he told me that, I was pretty much convinced that nothing would ever work out between us. Obviously, the Lord had different (and wonderful) plans.

  39. I did not see this the first time. I and the kids have all read the Harry potter books, this looks great. Tony had read the Golden Compass series and I think this would be much better for him to read.

  40. I’d love to win the book. AP is one of my favorite musicians so I’d be interested to read something by him as well.


Categories

