Posted by: Billy Marsh | March 31, 2008

And the Winner is . . .

Bret Allen Rogers

Only Providence could order an event to be so ironic. The man who said, “I don’t read fiction,” has just won a free fiction book from this giveaway. Still, I am happy to bless my good brother with a free copy, and hope that the Lord will use it to turn on the lights in his bald head to see the wonder of a good story.

As for the rest of you who participated, thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and leave comments. It was fun to dialogue with you all and to get to know those of you who are consistent readers of “Joy in the Journey” but have never shown your face before. I look forward to conversing with you all more in the future, and continue to pray that this blog ministers to you for the glory of God and the good of your salvation in the many days to come.

(FYI: Kim, my wife, drew the winning name out of a hat. We only did one drawing; therefore, the first name pulled was the winner.)

Just so you know, I didn’t just buy an extra book to giveaway to draw more readers to my blog. This was a special opportunity that I was given via Andrew Peterson’s publisher to help promote the release of On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness through what is called a “blog tour”. Peterson made the announcement on his website for anyone wanting to participate to email his publisher with his or her respective blog address. Then, after reviewing the submissions, the publisher would select various ones to post a review of the book and give one away through the blog. So, I was chosen and received two free copies, one for me and one for you . . . well, one for Bret now.

I hope all of you will still consider purchasing the book at sometime and reading it. These stories began as Peterson’s attempt to have a family-time of storytelling with his wife and kids. So, after evaluating it, I’m sure that this book would be a good choice for some of you parents to have a good, Christian-based book to read with your children, full of fun and adventure. Keep reading!

Responses

  1. Yippee! Look at you Billmeister, playing by the rules. Thanks for the book, brother! Maybe I will make it my first fiction read, that is, if the movie doesn’t come out soon. :-)

    Bret

  2. Hey, I just read over at the blog of Bret Allen Rogers that he’s having a FREE book give away … Something about some silly fiction book he’s never gonna read.

    ;-)

    Congratulations and happy fictionizing.

  3. Gunny,

    That was hilarious! Thanks for the laugh. I checked out your blog and perused Providence’s web site a bit. What a joy to see another Reformed Baptist fellowship. I look forward to listening to some of the sermons there.

    Bret


Leave a Reply

Categories

