Posted by: Billy Marsh | April 2, 2008

The Blogging Pastor

Throughout the years, I’ve learned my lesson in saying “never”. Here are some of the things that I’ve said “never” to where the Lord had other plans:

  • “I’m never going to college (spoken as a senior in high school).” ~ I went to North Greenville College the fall after my high school graduation.
  • “I’m never going to seminary.” ~ I’m a SWBTS student coming up on graduation.
  • “I’ll never be a youth pastor again (spoken after I resigned from my position in SC).” ~ I took another youth pastorate as soon as I arrived in Fort Worth 3 years ago.
  • “I’ll never marry a red-head.” ~ Kim is a red-head.
  • “I’ll never marry a twin.” ~ Kim is a twin.
  • “I’ll never have blog.” ~ I’m coming up on my first full year of blogging.

You must know that I was laughing the entire time while typing that list. It’s so funny as you look back on your life and see how God is so faithful to turn your world upside down when you are so bound and determined to do what seems right in your own eyes. Praise God for his unthwartable plan and universal sovereignty.

Building off my last “never” declaration, I want to point you to a post at Desiring God Blog by Abraham Piper called “6 Reasons Pastors Should Blog“. Abraham submits six solid reasons why all pastors should blog. Although it is geared towards pastors, I would say that most of the reasons, if not all, could be persuaive for any Christian, not just pastors. In fact, all six, before there was such a list, were the main motivations that caused me to contradict my “never” statement last May. Here they are in summary:

  1. To write
  2. To teach
  3. To recommend
  4. To interact
  5. To develop an eye for what is meaningful
  6. To be known

Let me comment just briefly on the sixth reason a pastor should blog. Please do not mistake the phrase “to be known” to represent the need for a pastor to reach some level of mass popularity. Instead, “to be known” ought to be understood as a chance to be “real” with your people. Blogging would give the pastor an opportunity to dialogue with his congregation more candidly on issues that may not make it into the pulpit once or twice a week. Via the blog, the pastor could discuss other issues such as his struggles, parenting, what kind of music he listens to, what is he reading, and so forth and so on.

Especially in the SBC, blogging has received a negative reputation due to the overshadowing of its political usages. But, please let me persuade you that there is much more to blogging than lobbying over certain political issues (not that these should necessarily be viewed as inherently negative), whether Baptist-related or not. For me, it has been an incredible opportunity to develop many ideas that I have stored away in my head for some time that have been patiently awaiting a platform where I could freely share them. Moreover, I could list numerous other benefits and blessings that the blogging format has to offer, especially for today’s Christians. But, I don’t have time to do that right now. So, in the meantime, check out Abraham’s list as well as what David Alan Black had to say many months ago in a quote that I have posted here.

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

