Posted by: Billy Marsh | April 4, 2008

Michael Card’s New CD: Hymns

Hymns ~ Michael Card

In case you don’t know, I’m a huge Michael Card fan. The Lord brought his music into my life in perfect timing in conjunction with the major spiritual transformation that was going on in my walk back when I graduated college. But that’s another story for another post.

Just as I do with Andrew Peterson and others, I like to promote and get the word out on artists who have made a difference in my life that you may not be that familiar with. In this case, I’m just wanting to bring to your attention that Card is planning to release a new album on April 15th. That’s a big deal for me; one that might even make its way onto the calendar.

His new record is called Hymns. Some of the song selections include, “Come Thou Fount,” “O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus,” and “Softly and Tenderly”. Currently, Card is running a pre-sale for the album. I think they are already shipping copies out even though the CD hasn’t been formally released. I haven’t listened to it yet, though I doubt it makes little difference. Everything Card does is laced with excellence and saturated with the Scriptures. He is absolutely one of the most God-centered musicians I have ever seen. What a blessing he has been to me.

Click here to check Hymns out at his website and to listen to some audio clips from featured songs. If the Lord’s blessed you with some extra jingle jangle in your pockets and you’re not sure why, then maybe this is it!

Responses

  1. Oh, goodie!

    I’m a missionary in Bolivia, and now I have another exciting reason to look forward to coming home this summer! Thanks for the info! God bless.

  2. blendedworship,

    I had a friend who was a journeyman with the IMB for two years in Peru named Eric Beecher. Did you know him or ever cross paths?

  3. Hi!
    Just received the CD today – and listening to it now! It’s great. I love Michael Cards music too. The first time I really listened to him, I didn’t even know it was him. I was working with Operation Mobilization (Logos II) at the time and travelling across Barbados in an old van when I heard a wonderful song in the radio: “Joy in the Journey” but the radio didn’t say who the artist was! So for about a year I asked – whenever it crossed my mind – people around me if they knew this song, until finally I found someone who did! What a joy to discover his music. Growing up as a missionary kid, and having worked in missions myself I can kind of relate to life as a journey! And then this CD just arrived today and I was looking for more info and stumbled upon your page! Had to check it out – because of your reference to “Joy in the Journey” in your headline and the beautiful picture – from Grey Havens, isn’t it? good to find a fellow Tolkien fan:) I wish you all the best.
    Love and Blessings

    Bettina:) from Denmark

  4. Bettina,

    I’m glad to see that Card’s music, especially the song “Joy in the Journey,” has moved you the way it has me. Sometimes I get in the mood for other genres of music, but I never get too far from Card. There’s just no substitute.

    You are right that my banner is of the Grey Havens. It ties into my theme for this blog. I’m a huge Tolkien fan, not just The Lord of the Rings fan.

    May God bless you in Denmark in your work for the Lord,

    Billy


Leave a Reply

Categories

