Posted by: Billy Marsh | August 11, 2008

Michael Card and Theological Interpretation

Scribbling in the Sand ~ The Best of Michael Card Live

Scribbling in the Sand ~ The Best of Michael Card Live

Only Michael Card could write a song about Leviticus 25 and it actually end up being worth listening to as well as being singable. The fascinating thing about this song is that Card does such a wonderful job in a few short lines of theologically interpreting the theme of the year of Jubilee in Lev 25 with a Christ-centered approach. I’ve been pressing play on “Jubilee” for a while, but only in the past few years have I started to realize just how rich it is, notwithstanding all of the many other songs where Card does something very similar. His music is so insightful and full of spiritual meat. I’ve been eager to implement some of his songs like this one into my worship music repertoire for I think they would be well-received and would have the potential of ministering in some very powerful ways to people who are not familiar with his music. “Jubilee” can be found in more than one place, but my exposure to it was on Scribbling in the Sand: The Best of Michael Card Live. I’ve provided the song for your listening pleasure in my Box.net media player over in the sidebar. Just scroll through the Wes King songs and you’ll find it.

 

Click here to visit Card’s website where he is making available all of his CDs that focus on specific Bible studies as a collection with an incredible discounted price.

 

Jubilee – Michael Card

The Lord provided for a time for the slaves to be set free

For the debts to all be cancelled so his chosen ones could see

His deep desire was for forgiveness, he longed to see their liberty

And his yearning was embodied in the year of jubilee

 

Jubilee, Jubilee

Jesus is the Jubilee

Debts forgiven, Slaves set free

Jesus is our Jubilee

 

At the Lord’s appointed time, his deep desire became a man

The heart of all true jubilation and with joy we understand

In his voice we hear a trumpet sound that tells us we are free

He is the incarnation of the year of jubilee

 

Jubilee, Jubilee

Jesus is the Jubilee

Debts forgiven, Slaves set free

Jesus is our Jubilee

 

To be so completely guilty and given over to despair

To look into your Judge’s face and find a Savior there

 

Jubilee, Jubilee

Jesus is the Jubilee

Debts forgiven, Slaves set free

Jesus is our Jubilee

Responses

  1. Billy,

    Your music posts keep throwing me back to the mid-90s CCM scene of my late childhood.

  2. Ched,

    Your mid-90s CCM childhood was my late to post college years. In fact, I don’t think I even owned my first copy of Card’s music until after I graduated collge. Granted I listened to some stuff off and on growing up like the occasional Wes King or Steven Curtis Chapman, however, most of my time was spent discovering the Allman Brothers Band, Eric Clapton, and just about anything else that would qualify as classic rock.

  3. OK, you guys are making me feel old because I was about 30 when I heard my first Michael Card song in the late 1980’s! Favorite song writers of my past include Michael Card (heard him in concert about 4-5 times) and Steve Camp.


Leave a Reply

Categories

