Posted by: Billy Marsh | August 28, 2008

My New Favorite Book . . . Now I Just Need To Read It!

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, or haven’t been visiting “Joy in the Journey” since this blog’s inception, my overarching theme is taken from Hebrews 11, primarily 11:13-16 and the Sojourner motif in Scripture. Originally, I started the blog in order to have a place to flesh out this worldview in a setting not only where I could minister to others and attempt to spread this way of thinking and living to a wider audience, but also to be forced to dig deeper on the subject in terms of Bible study and other external research. My hope is that one day–preferably sooner than later–the Lord would allow me to pen a work on this matter to be published. If you haven’t been exposed to my indepth look at Hebrews 11:13-16, then click here to visit a “table of contents” of sorts to navigate through the articles.

I’m constantly searching for works, volumes, or articles pertaining to the journey or pilgrim mindset found in Scripture, but most of what I stumble across is found in pieces spread throughout writings that are devoted to larger topics, and of course, commentaries that deal with the whole letter to the Hebrews in general. However, awhile back, I discovered to my extreme delight a major work, a pretty thick one too, completely committed to Hebrews 11, which also entailed that the author would include a large portion of material on the exposition of Heb 11:13-16. I haven’t had the extra cash to buy it until now. The volume of which I am speaking is the puritan writer Thomas Manton’s work By Faith: Sermons on Hebrews 11. It is a total of 698 pages! Oh how I want to devour this book fast. Knowing what to expect from puritans in general and Manton in particular coupled with a meaty volume utterly devoted to a portion of Scripture that has already ministered to my life in such mighty ways, I can barely contain myself. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve got it, plan to read it, and hopefully use it to produce many more posts here at my blog to help all of you aliens, strangers, exiles, sojourners, and pilgrims on earth to long for a better country, a heavenly one, with joy!

By Faith ~ Thomas Manton

By Faith ~ Thomas Manton

Responses

  1. You just need to get to writing your on book on the subject so we can read that!

  2. I know, I am seriously going to start trying to put it together. Maybe you can give me some money to fund my research?

  3. There’s a lot more of Thomas Manton available in the 22-volume Complete Works, now available for pre-order from Logos Bible Software.

    Happy reading!

    (By the way, I see you’ve got a lot of Bible texts in your blog. Have you seen RefTagger?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

