Posted by: Billy Marsh | January 23, 2009

A Mouth Full of Glory

During my time of personal Bible study this morning, I read over this verse: “My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day (Psalm 71:8).” As I stopped to meditate on these words I thought to myself, what does this look like? Or better yet, what does this sound like? More specifically, I can envision what a mouth filled with praise may sound like, but what about one filled with the Lord’s glory? In this case, the first question I automatically ask myself is, is the author trying to make a distinction between praise and glory? Or, are they two ways of saying the same thing? Personally I think that there is a distinction between the two and the chapter’s context will help us in coming to that conclusion.

My fascination with this verse is in the second clause, though I am no less in need of being committed to having my mouth overflowing with praise to the Lord all day long. But what does it mean to have your mouth overflowing with his glory? From what I’ve gleaned from this chapter, the glory with which we are to speak from morning to evening is the wonder of who God is and the mighty acts he has done. Moreover, it seems (not exclusively) that praise in this chapter is the personal cry to God in a vertical fashion where God is addressed as “You.” On the other hand, a mouth filled with God’s glory is the one that proclaims the majesty and might of God to others. We herald the Lord’s glory day and night, from our youth to our gray hairs, “until [we] proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come (Ps 71:18).”

In response, I am forced to evaluate my speech and wonder how much the glory of the Lord spills out of my mouth in every day conversations. I long to make known the great and glorious things he has done in my life and my family. I desire to have a fuller and sharper knowledge of the drama of redemption in Scripture so that on a moment’s notice I can recount the saving acts of the God who has made a way for reconciliation and rescue for his people from the law, sin, and death by means of Jesus Christ. The glory of God is not something that should only be voiced in a quiet, reverent prayer locked away in the place where you get away to spend time with the Lord; The glory of God is something that others need to know about; people need particulars about God’s glory, whether it includes his sovereignty over the lilies of the field or breaking down strongholds as you strive to claim a location and a people for Christ.

Now that I have a son, the purpose statement in 71:18 really hits home as I realize that there is in fact a “future” generation living in my house, and oh how I long for him to receive the legacy of the gospel from growing up in this home. As a father and husband, I pray that God’s glory will be on my lips all day long, every day. The stories of his mighty deeds and tesimonies of his perfect and holy nature will fill the halls and rooms of this house so long as he continues to allow me to make my way to old age and more gray hairs (71:18a).

Leave a Reply

Categories

