Posted by: Billy Marsh | February 13, 2009

The Marshes Meet the New Little Marshman

These pics are long overdue for posting since my family left about 2 weeks ago. Wyatt is the first grandchild/nephew on our side of the family, so it goes without saying just how anxious mom, dad, and my sister were to make their way to Fort Worth to see the new little Marshman. It was great to see him take to both mom and dad as soon as they arrived. Wyatt was alseep on their chests in no time. The other great highlight was when my sister, Dawn, got here from the airport and almost broke down into tears when she made her way through the kitchen into the living room to see her first nephew waiting to be held by his new Auntie.

It was a very special time for me in many ways. For one, it was great to be together with my full family again for a few days. Since we weren’t able to go home for Christmas this year, we all four hadn’t been together since back in July, and even back then, it was only for one day. Another priceless moment was just getting to see my son held by my parents and sister. I’m not sure how to explain it, but it was an unforgettable experience getting to hand Wyatt to the people who have memories of me being that small and young, holding me in the same way. As for Dawn, I felt honored that Kim and I could make her and Eric, “Auntie Dawn and Uncle Eric.” I’m excited for them to be a part of Wyatt’s life. I can’t believe how grown up she and I are now. It seems like only yesterday I was chasing her around the house. Now I’m going to have to pass those duties off to her nephew.

Having everyone gathered together under one roof, linked together by little Wyatt felt like the Lord had just created one more strong bond in which our family can continue to grow closer. It was also great to see Kim, Dawn, and Mom interact with Wyatt, sharing old insights and teaching new ones. One final memory that was made was when Mom took a picture of the three generations of Marshmen in our home. I know one day Wyatt will grow up and be glad to see all three of us together. I remember when me, my dad, and my grandfather all took a picture together at a church in Camden where the Marshes have history. Those are moments that you only learn to appreciate when you mature and realize that life is about more than “you” and that heritage is a thing of the Lord.

So here are some relatively new pictures of Wyatt, primarily from the week(end) that he spent with his PawPaw, GiGi, and Auntie Dawn:

Dad (PawPaw) and Wyatt

Dad (PawPaw) and Wyatt

Mom (GiGi) and Wyatt

Mom (GiGi) and Wyatt

Auntie Dawn and Wyatt

Auntie Dawn and Wyatt

Wyatt and his playpin

Wyatt and his playpin

Wyatt and his first trip downtown

Wyatt and his first trip downtown

Wyatt and his mommy sleeping

Wyatt and his mommy sleeping

Responses

  1. LOOK AT ALL THAT HAIR! He’s fantastic! Congrats!

  2. Yeah, and look at my lack of hair! You could have at least let me put a hat on! He’s a good lookin’ boy. Ya’ll did a great job.

  3. anyone with the name PawPaw isn’t allowed to have much hair

  4. Look at that beautiful boy!! More pics, please, we miss ya’ll. Is that a Chicco travel system?? We have one too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

