Posted by: Billy Marsh | December 5, 2009

Christmas Feature: A Theology of Gift-Giving

Earlier this year I wrote a series of posts on “A Theology of Gift-Giving“. The impetus behind creating these posts was twofold. One was to demonstrate the directive theory of drama that I was promoting from Kevin Vanhoozer’s The Drama of Doctrine. The other was to counteract the extremes on both sides of giving gifts that I have experienced, namely, treating gift-giving (particularly for holidays) as carnal and giving gifts in a materialisitc and spoiling manner. I was satisfied by the end product in these posts so I thought that I’d offer them here together since they are conducive to the season at hand. I would love to hear your thoughts on these posts as well as your testimonials of how you go about striking a good balance between the two extremes I mentioned above.

Leave a Reply

Categories

