Posted by: Billy Marsh | October 16, 2010

Piper and Thinking Biblically

Last year I published a post featuring some of the potential writing projects that John Piper had announced he was going to try to pursue. One of those was a book he said might be called Reasoning with Jesus: Thinking for the Glory of God. This projected goal of his has now become a reality, but with a different title: Think: The Life of the Mind and the Love of God. I am very excited about this work from Piper for many reasons, but just to name a few:

One, I was first drawn to Piper by the richness and breadth of his thought and theology (as a pastor!), so the writing of this book has been for me a long time coming. I had never read or heard anyone preach on the range of subjects and issues that Piper did. As I came to figure out, it was because he strove to think biblically about all of life, and believed that the Gospel covered everything. This worldview, though it now seems obvious, was at the time somewhat new and entirely refreshing. Growing up in the rural South in the SBC, the “Gospel” tends to be mainly understood as one-liners you squeeze onto an evangelistic tract rather than a lens for viewing every little facet of life. Second, I know that Piper loves, reads, and has been shaped by other great thinkers of the faith like C. S. Lewis, Francis Schaeffer, R. C. Sproul, John Owen, and of course, Jonathan Edwards. Their fingerprints are discernible all over Piper’s ministry, and I’m sure there will traces of them in this work too. And third, I know that Piper will challenge Christians to think biblically for the glory of God. He is not just trying to get Christians to be thinkers. If so, then he could write a different kind of book. Instead, he wants believers to think biblically about the world they live in daily. Everything from ecology to the economy. Christ’s redemptive work in the Gospel leaves nothing in the created order untouched, and it is the Word of God by the work of the Holy Spirit that allows us to be taught by God on how to live on this earth and love God with all of our being and to love our neighbor as ourselves.

Another great point is that Think is in hardcover! Hardcover’s are my favorite, and I love dust jackets. I leave my dust jackets on, and I will search the internet to no end to find the used book I’m looking for with its original dust jacket, most of the time no matter the condition.

For these reasons and more, I hope that you join with me in getting a copy of this work and reading it very soon. Once again, what is especially great about this publication is that it is coming from a pastor and not a professional theologian or philosopher. And to me, that shows that this issue of thinking biblically is ultimately a pastoral concern, and I’m glad that this pastor/preacher has recognized that and is working to shepherd his own flock’s and our hearts to that end.

Check out the trailer for it below. Isn’t it kind of crazy that we live in an age where even books have their own “trailers”?

Leave a Reply

Categories

