Posted by: Billy Marsh | November 8, 2011

The Devlish Danger of False Security

Wow, I can’t believe I’m actually submitting a new post. I haven’t even looked to see when was the last time I published one. I’m just sitting here by my computer doing some research, and decided that I wanted to share this quote from Luther on my blog as I did in the olden days.

Upon reflection of the biblical truth that Satan is the “prince of the world, god of this age, ” Luther observes that most “children of men” do not believe this fact. Instead, Luther intimates,

For everyone thinks he knows best and hopes that the devil is beyond the ocean and God is tucked in our pocket.

~ Martin Luther, Against the Antinomians (1539), Luther’s Works, Vol. 47, pg. 114.

All too often, we live our lives as if the above quip were what we held theologically about the locus of God and the devil in this world; however, neither are true at any point, and both false suppositions place us in great spiritual danger. For the one, Satan is not on the other side of the ocean, but rather is crouching at our door, while God is definitely not in our pocket, and instead, stands over and above us, ready with a sharp-two edged sword in his mouth to bring low the haughty.

Responses

  1. I see you still leave it up to me to do your research for you: April 9, 2011 (the last time you posted!).

    Great quotation from Luther. I liked your reflection on it as well.

  2. Dude, it’s been 4 years since you’ve blogged. You’re a Dr. now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

